Scholarships

The amount of scholarships available for college students is so high that it can seem overwhelming. Here are a few resources that can help focus your search for the right scholarship (or scholarships) for you. These two databases are a good starting point for Louisiana students:

http://colleges.niche.com/scholarships/state/louisiana/ (Scholarships specifically for Louisiana students)

https://webapps.doe.louisiana.gov/ScholarshipsOnlineApp/ (Scholarships from the Louisiana Department of Education)

Here is a more detailed list of some of the most scholarships and scholarship resources available for prospective college students:

Scholarship Value Website Deadline
Louisiana Smart Start Scholarship Program Varies https://www.jpmorgan.com/pages/smartstart/louisiana January 30th
Regions Riding Forward Scholarship $5,000 www.regions.com/ridingforward February 26th
Buick Achievers Scholarship Program $25,000 www.buickachievers.com February 27th
Shell Foundation Scholarship $2,000-5,000 http://www.shell.us/aboutshell/careers-tpkg/students-and-graduates/scholarships.html February 26th
Jackie Robinson Foundation Scholarship $7,500 http://www.jackierobinson.org February 15th
Sandisk Scholarship $10,000 http://www.sandisk.com/about-sandisk/corporate-responsibility/community/scholars-program/ March 3rd
Spence Reese Scholarship $4,000 http://www.sdyouth.org/Scholarships.aspx March 31st
Myer Epstein Bishop Scholarship $1,000 http://www.gnof.org/program/myer-epstein-bishop-scholarship/ April 1st
Shawn Carter Foundation Scholarship Varies http://www.shawncartersf.com/ April 30th
Discover Scholarship Varies https://www.discover.com/student-loans/scholarships/award.html?acmpgn=OSLSPX010 April 30th
Jack & Jill Foundation Scholarship $2,500 www.jackandjillfoundation.org/scholarships/ June 1st
Tylenol Scholarship $2,500 www.tylenol.com May or June
Big Future Varies https://bigfuture.collegeboard.org/ Varies
College Green Light Varies www.collegegreenlight.com Varies
United Negro College Fund Varies www.uncf.org Varies
Scholarships Online Varies www.scholarshipsonline.org Varies
Scholarship America Varies www.scholarshipamerica.org Varies
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: